Oregon Mediation Association

PO Box 40041
Portland, OR 97240
Phone: 503-872-9775

  The 2012 Mediators’ Choice Award

Celebrating People Making a Difference
in Oregon Communities
Congratulations to the 2012 Mediators' Choice Award recipient:

Aloha High School

This extraordinary group at Aloha High School has been selected to receive the 2012 Mediators’ Choice Award for their efforts in working with students, faculty, staff and the community as a series of tragic events unfolded.  Within a three week time frame there were four deaths in the community that shocked the school and entire community as a whole.

The first death was the murder of a recently graduated Aloha High School student and football player, and the suicides of two other recent graduates that shortly followed.  The fourth was the brother-in-law of one of the school’s counselors who was lost on Mt. Hood and was later found deceased.

Through all of these events the counselors and staff offered grief counseling and support for students and families in the Aloha High School attendance area.  They also established after school sessions to assist faculty and staff through the grief process.  Through all of the tragedy and turmoil, this group maintained not only a high level of professionalism but demonstrated incredible compassion and empathy.  In addition, they continued to attend to their regular duties at the school - with a mobility rate of 38% and students being critically impacted by poverty and homelessness – this is a huge challenge in itself. 

It is because of this extraordinary work that the counselors, leaders and support staff of Aloha High School will be honored with this year’s Mediators’ Choice Award.

  • Carl Burl, Vice Principal
  • Kulia Ferguson, Vice Principal
  • Ken Yarnell, Principal
  • Cary Meier, Vice Principal Andrew Witt, Counselor 
  • Jennifer Townsley, Counselor
  • Susan Phillips, CounselorLauren Randolph, Counselor
  • Marcel Brooks, Counselor
  • Michelle Lira, Counselor Serafina Allie, Counselor
  • Robin Kracker, Counselor
  • Norma Sullivan, Retired Substitute Counselor
  • Dori Beals, Resource Counselor
  • Sonia Contreras, Community Liaison
  • Donna McGregor, Youth Services Coordinator
  • Kathy Dimeo, Registrar Counselor and Administrative Assistant
  • Tammy Hartley, Registrar Counselor and Administrative Assistant
A special thank you to the Award Committee for all of your work
2012 Mediators’ Choice Award Committee Members:
Larry Coady, Chair
Cynthia Moore
Mike Schnee
Joan Howard
Carolyn Lee

About the Mediators’ Choice Award
In 2011, OMA celebrated its 25th anniversary by introducing the Mediators’ Choice Award to recognize people in Oregon who have made an extraordinary contribution towards peacemaking in Oregon's communities. In 2012, we again sought to identify people who are not mediators, but who have exemplified mediators' values through their actions.  Specifically, we look for individuals or groups who have made positive contributions by building understanding, healing communities, resolving complex problems, establishing trust, and/or enhancing relationships. 
Selection Criteria
Potential receipients are identified based on the following criteria:
  • Made a difference in a difficult situation and as a result, created a positive change.
  • Timeframe – event/activity occurred within the past year.
  • Made a difference to more than one community or groups within a community.
  •  Not a politician or well-recognized person/group.
  • Within the state of Oregon.
The Selection Process
The selection of award winners is made by the OMA Gala Award Committee. The 2013 Gala will be held in late spring. Watch this website for the specific date and for a 2013 Mediators' Choice Award Nomination Form.

The selection committee is comprised of Oregon Mediation Association members and board members who mediate within the state of Oregon. The committee will review all recommendations and select a recipient who best meets the above criteria. The winner(s) will be notified in advance and presented with the award at the Gala.


 We appreciate your assistance in identifying recipients

of  the Mediators’ Choice Award.


This site managed with Dynamic Website Technology from Mediate.com
Products and Services